The First Unitarian Church stands at the corner of Franklin Street and Geary Street, two blocks away from Japantown. It features regular Sunday services, as well as support groups.
Founded by Thomas Starr King in 1853, the First Unitarian Church in San Francisco was built on Union Square at 133 Geary Street. In 1889, Percy & Hamilton designed the current building in the Richardson Romanesque style, named after the famous architect Henry Hobson Richardson. As one of the earliest examples using this architectural style in San Francisco, it featured picturesque roofline profiles, rustication and polychromy, semi-circular arches supported on clusters of squat columns, and round arches over clusters of windows on massive walls.
Worship at UUSF:
Sundays beginning at 11 am
Sundays beginning at 10am