Previous Page


Top: The gift Shop at the Cliff House is right next to the restaurant.
Bottom: A nice view of ocean beach from the Cliff House.


Two U.S. Presidents have visited the Cliff House: William McKinley and Teddy Roosevelt. It has been visited by other citizens of the world and remained popular with the local population.

After the death of Sutro, the house was leased to John Tait in 1907. The Cliff House survived the 1906 earthquake, but was burned in a raging fire a year later. Dr. Emma Merritt, daughter of Sutro, along with John Tait, rebuilt the Cliff House on behalf of Sutro. The third version of the Cliff House was finished on July 1, 1909. It was built with steel reinforcing bars and would last for the next 100 years. It was still a place for elegant dining and great entertainment.

Today, the Cliff House is still perched next to the beautiful Pacific Ocean and a is a well-known restaurant. The Sutro Wing has a two-story dining room with stunning panoramic views of the ocean.

The recent restoration was a joint undertaking of restaurant owners Dan and Mary Hountalas, and the National Park Service. They wanted to restore the Cliff House back to its 1909 neoclassical style. Construction started n 2002 and finished in 2004. Dan and Mary remodeled the inside back to the Victorian style of the early 1900s. It was decorated with hand-painted valances, silver-leaf and hand-pressed copper ceilings.