The Bauhaus was founded in Weimar, Germany in 1919 by architect Walter Gropius with the aim of bridging the gap between art, design, and industry. The Bauhaus was a school where students received theoretical and practical training in all of the fine arts like ceramics, murals, stained glass, typography, metalwork, book binding, stone sculpture and furniture making. Gropius believed that a building should be at the center of the teaching of all the arts and in 1925 the Bauhaus moved from Weimar to Dessau and into a new purpose-built home which reflected the core of Bauhaus values.

Courses at the Bauhaus were structured so that all students received a sound basic education in the theory of the arts, followed by practical training in all of the disciplines. It attracted teachers of the highest calibre including Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Johannes Itten, and Lyonel Feininger. The period Between 1924 and 1928 was the most significant in the development of the Bauhaus. In 1928 Gropius resigned and was succeeded by Hannes Meyer.